Beginnings

I inhale, breathing in the fresh air that was always a glass wall away from me, exhilarated by the freedom it brings. I stretch out, placing one foot in front of the other until I am running, basking in the lack of restraints. I can breathe again. I can be who I was created to be, living for God instead of for others. I can break free of self-placed limits inspired by family. I can live with my heart, unhindered by the shackles society and even the church places, those shackles prohibiting the belief that the heart is good. So I look at where I came from, observing the years of molding and shaping, the years of confinement and pain. I look to where I am headed, anticipating the joy, embracing the freedom, yearning for it to never end, and I am filled with hope.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” ~Romans 15:13

Leave a Reply

