Another Year

Days pass, appearing and disappearing at a steady pace. Slowly they build into weeks, then months, then years. Time builds on itself and people wonder where it goes, but we all know it goes to the past. Then arise the “what ifs” and “could have beens,” haunting people if allowed to. So here I am, at the end of another school year. Out by my myself I have become more independent, and so many things have changed. I have become someone who I never dreamed of. Actions and thoughts plague me as opposition to my ideals, spurred on by the surrounding atmosphere. Shyness fades, confrontation emerges, being a doormat drifts into the past, pride steps forward, kindness steps back, and confidence erupts. Qualities remain, but more distant, less acute within my being. Values attempt to hold strong as everyone else looks down upon them as old fashioned or irrelevant. Yet here I am, entering into a summer, desiring to evolve back into more of the person I was, retaining the desired traits and losing the insidious ones. So here I am. Here I am at the end of ¬†another year.

“Everything you do or say should be done to obey Jesus your Lord.” ~Colossians 3:17

Leave a Reply

