The Path

I struggle to walk the path between the chasm of fleshly desire and the mountain of fear. My path is narrow and edged by the stark juxtaposition of darkness bordering the Light. But not only is the path narrow, it travels steadily upward, littered with logs, rocks, crevices, and sink holes. All obstacles draw this hopeless wanderer into the shadow of the mountain or the depths of the chasm.

I approach a log wedged into a sink hole, drawing me into both the shadow of fear and the depths of my fleshly desires. This obstacle differs from many, but appears frequently along the path I have traveled. It offers different challenges as its true identity is discovered in the image of a human. It possesses the ability to generate fear in my conflicted mind and heart and to draw me into desires that reflect my own selfish desires. It splits me two different ways, preventing my journey along my path. Whispers lead me away from the gentle hush of Your voice, and I discover that only by that gentle hush can I overcome and surpass my current trial, and in overcoming I find peace and joy.

So I set off again, not pausing to dwell on the past, but pressing harder into the oncoming struggles placed ahead of me along my path.

“God blesses those who patiently endure testing and temptation. Afterward they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him. And remember, when you are being tempted, do not say, “God is tempting me.” God is never tempted to do wrong, and he never tempts anyone else. Temptation comes from our own desires, which entice us and drag us away.  These desires give birth to sinful actions. And when sin is allowed to grow, it gives birth to death.

So don’t be misled, my dear brothers and sisters.  Whatever is good and perfect is a gift coming down to us from God our Father, who created all the lights in the heavens. He never changes or casts a shifting shadow. He chose to give birth to us by giving us his true word. And we, out of all creation, became his prized possession.” ~James 1:12-18

 

Leave a Reply

