Flames

Flames kindle within me, sparking from the embers that stir in my past. They grow, ravenously consuming my thoughts, drowning out the still, calm water that I have been led to. The flames appear to evaporate that water, eliminating any hope for relief from the heat and tickling touches of warmth. Yet I know that is not the Truth. I am called out of want and into being led by still waters. The embers of the past strive to suffocate the waters and instill within me the all-consuming Fear. Fear has plagued me too long: preventing friendships, eliminating intimacy, generating self-condemnation, disallowing hope, and inciting despair. But I am no longer a slave to fear, for I am Your child. So I begin to squelch the flames, drawing from the victory I already have in You. Slowly they dwindle down into the sparkling embers that flutter long into the Night.

I turn and leave behind the burning coals that threaten to kindle up into flames again in my future. I turn my eyes to the hills, for I know where my Help comes from.

I look up to the mountains—
    does my help come from there?
My help comes from the Lord,
    who made heaven and earth!” ~Psalm 121:1-2

via Daily Prompt: Flames

Leave a Reply

