Percolate

I sit quietly, evaluating my life. I watch the events drip down through my vision, the past permeating the present. My thoughts, words, and actions are dictated by my past, my schema. The past thoughts endeavor to percolate throughout all of my present and into my future. The whispers of lies strive to bleed into my beliefs and identity. I watch for the corruption, exhibited through my behavior—yet it does not come.

I am sheltered under Your wing. The drips that sought out my identity roll off of Your wings and I pass by unharmed. What have I done to deserve such protection? Nothing. Nothing in my power could allow for such shelter. But the One who intercedes for me allows such forgiveness as to cleanse all of the used grounds from the present. No longer am I subjected to the soiled water run through my past, but I have been purified through the death of my old self.

He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.” ~Psalm 91:4

via Daily Prompt: Percolate

Leave a Reply

