Faded

The past becomes faded, slowly disappearing into the background of my life. I suffer from selective forgetfulness. While Pain lingers, Joy and Hope fade. My temporal mind loses more Hope than Despair as I age. Memories course through my mind, both past and present. As I watch, some edges blur, losing clarity and potency. I only see my most pleasant memories fade at first. Vision clouded by Despair, I strive to evade him to see truth. Slowly at first, I see through Forgiveness that my most painful memories also fade. If I choose to see through the lenses of Love, all memories fade; however, some fade more quickly than others. Defining memories linger, seeking to establish strongholds within my mind. When triggered, the memories flare up again, consuming my vision. It progresses into a cycle of fading and refining until I am dizzy from alternating so frequently. Until I see through the lens of Freedom, which sheds Light upon my current situation.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.” ~ Romans 8:18

via Daily Prompt: Faded

Leave a Reply

